[RLAB Logo]
rlab | case | cep | fmg | sticerd

contact us | maps | IT support | RLAB Data  
The Research Centres:
RLAB home page about RLAB
  -the centres

contact us
events and calendar
staff directory
support & services
news & highlights
Centre for Analysis of Social Exclusion

[photo: John Hills] The centre director is Professor John Hills.
Room R512,
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7419
Email: j.hills@lse.ac.uk

[photo: Anne Power] The deputy director is Professor Anne Power.
Room R5z23D ,
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 6330
Email: anne.power@lse.ac.uk

The Centre for Analysis of Social Exclusion (CASE) was established as an ESRC Centre in 1997, building on the work of the LSE Welfare State Programme. Directed by John Hills with colleagues, its aim is to develop a deeper understanding of the dimensions of social exclusion and its implications for society, through four strands of comparative empirical work.

In October 2002 CASE began work on a second five-year programme of research. The core research programme is divided under a number of inter-related headings:
  • Generational and life course dynamics
  • Poverty, local services and outcomes
  • The dynamics of low income areas
  • The CASE neighbourhood study
  • Education and social exclusion
  • Social networks and social capital
  • Employment, welfare and exclusion
  • Policies, concepts and measurement
Under these headings we aim is to understand the dynamic processes at work within the areas of study and to investigate the individual characteristics and social institutions which prevent exclusion, and promote recovery, regeneration and inclusion.

Further details can be found on the CASE Website

CASE organises regular seminars on empirical and theoretical issues connected with social exclusion, including the Welfare Policy and Analysis Seminar, supported by the Department of Social Security and Social Exclusion Seminars. It also publishes a series of discussion papers, research summaries and reports. Its annual turnover is £710k, including funding from charitable trusts, central and local government and the voluntary sector.